Just another statistic

I thought I would be random and open up to my blog readers some. Many people know that I’m from Alaska but not too many people know my background. There’s so much more to me then anyone would know. I grew up in a small, small town called Hydaburg and this town consisted of about 350 people growing up. This town was and still is infested with drug and alcohol addiction along with a good portion of my island called Prince of Wales island. While I was growing up, I saw people constantly drunk, wives being beat, my parents getting into physical disputes because of alcohol and kids getting drunk and high at the young ages of 12. I saw some of my best friends doing drugs and drinking at young ages. I saw lives taken because of suicide and drunk driving. I slowly grew away from these types of behaviors and focused on basketball. I was always at the gym playing with the adults and being cussed out or being threatened because that’s how it was growing up there. I wouldn’t have it any other way. I know there’s people out there that have it worse then me. This is simply for the people that are curious to know what I came from. I never had positive role models to look up to consistently. The ones I did look up to were “local legends” and didn’t go play college basketball. They hung out, fished, and partied. I looked up to these guys. My peers and I didn’t know any better then that. Statistically, I should still be back in Hydaburg fishing and partying with the people I grew up with. I’m one of 5 division 1 basketball players out of Alaska and I’m proud to say that. I go back and give kids a positive role model to look up to because I didn’t have that growing up. I always tell coaches and trainers I work with that when I’m all done down the road, I want my story to change lives and that’s what I’m doing. I’ve fully committed myself to improving and giving back. I’m a face for suicide prevention in my region in Alaska now and all of this has happened for a reason. Like people always say, there’s more to what people see then what meets the eye. I didn’t want to be just another statistic.


2 Comments on “Just another statistic”

  1. […] his personal blog, “Humble Experience“, Bell-Holter says this about growing-up in tiny Hydaburg, Alaska-population 350 and a town […]

  2. […] his personal blog, “Humble Experience“, Bell-Holter says this about growing-up in tiny Hydaburg, Alaska-population 350 and a town […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.